Support Center

FAQs - G Suite User Provisioning and Sync


The following are Frequently Asked Question regarding JumpCloud's G Suite User Provisioning and Sync Feature.
 

Integration FAQs


Q: What is the method JumpCloud uses to connect to G Suite

A: JumpCloud Utilizes OAuth to secure and persist its connection with Google to perform our integration tasks. 

Q: When I deactivate my connection with G Suite from JumpCloud, what happens to the user accounts in Google?

A: When the OAuth session is deactivated in JumpCloud, all users in Google will remain ‘Active’ and functioning. Within JumpCloud, all User accounts will remain Active as well.  All accounts will be unbound from the G Suite Directory. When and if the products are-reactivated, the admin will need to re-bind the users to the G Suite Directory to re-establish the connection and ownership-control of the accounts in Google. 

Q: I currently use the Active Directory Bridge to import users from AD. Can I use JumpCloud's G Suite User Provisioning or Office 365 at the same time?

A: Currently, JumpCloud's integration between Active Directory and G Suite or Office 365 is mutually exclusive. This means specifically that while the Active Directory Bridge is active and in use with JumpCloud, G Suite and/or Office 365 integrations are disabled.  G Suite and Office 365 can be used simultaneously, however. In most implementations, Active Directory will be the authoritative directory controlling identities to G Suite (typically via the G Suite Directory Synch utility) or directly to Office 365 through Microsoft's on-premise to Azure integration utilities. Please contact support@jumpcloud.com with any questions related to this topic or assistance in migrating users between directories.  

Q: Can JumpCloud allow an administrator to integrate with multiple G Suite Accounts?

A: At this time, only one Google account can be integrated with JumpCloud. 

Q: Can my avatars uploaded in Google be migrated to JumpCloud?

A: At this time, JumpCloud can not import Avatars into JumpCloud's user accounts. 

 

Importation FAQs


Q: What happens during import when a user exists in G Suite and we already have a ‘matching’ user in the JumpCloud Directory?

A: Upon import, you will see a failure for this user to import as the account with the same email already exists. 

Q: When I am importing users from G Suite, why do I see suspended users and accounts I have previously imported?

A: JumpCloud's Google synchronization UI displays all of your Google users regardless of whether they are suspended and/or previously imported. We will provide filtering mechanisms in the future. 

Q: Can I import Organizational Units and Groups from G Suite to JumpCloud

A: At this time, only user accounts are supported between JumpCloud and G Suite. OU and Group membership management should continue to be managed in Google directly. 

Q: We have multiple JumpCloud Administrators using the Admin Console. Do they each need to log into Google to do Import tasks? 

A: No. Once the Super Admin credentials have been authenticated, the connection to G Suite, regardless of Administrator, can perform importation and provisioning tasks. 

 

Provisioning FAQs


Q: Can I prevent the automated email from being sent to my employees when I bind them to G Suite?

A: While an admin can prevent a Welcome email from being delivered to the end user when creating the account inside of JumpCloud by specifying an initial password (Getting Started: Users), binding a user to G Suite will send an email to the employee. We recommend educating the employee base first before binding them to G Suite so the email is expected. 

Q: After creating and immediately importing an account from Google to JumpCloud, and providing this user with a temp password in Google, my user's indicate their passwords must be changed in Google. What causes this?

A: In certain circumstances, the setting within the Google Account to “require user to change password at next sign-in” may be set true. This is found in the individual User’s “Account” settings within Google. Turning this off will not force a change to the Google password. Users can then re-set their strong password in JumpCloud and log in with those credentials. 

Q: When provisioning users from JumpCloud to G Suite, why are users immediately placed into a 'Suspended' state?

A: If you are utilizing a G Suite trial account, this is a known limitation for API-created users until your instance is upgraded to a paid account.  In order to remove the 'Suspended' user state on a newly created G Suite account, the user must attempt login to the account in order to complete Google's verification steps.  This is to prevent malicious activity on trial accounts, and require that users complete validation prior to being placed into an 'Active' state. 

Synchronization FAQs


Q: How can I suspend an account in G Suite?

A: The administrator can unbind the user from the G Suite directory in JumpCloud, which will trigger the user in Google to be suspended. Re-binding the user will re-activate the User in Google.  

Q: When I delete an account in Google, what occurs in JumpCloud?

A: The user remains unchanged in JumpCloud. If you wish to remove the user from JumpCloud, these actions must be performed manually in the JumpCloud console. PLEASE NOTE: Should the user need to be re-provisioned from JumpCloud to Google, Google will often require up to 4-5 days until they release the same email address to be re-used again. 
 

Credentials FAQs


Q: How does JumpCloud’s Password Complexity work with G Suite?

A: JumpCloud's Password Complexity works with G Suite synced users just as with any other JumpCloud user and wherever their credentials are emitted to and being used. Any attempt by a JumpCloud user to change their password in the JumpCloud console to one that does not meet JumpCloud's complexity requirements will fail. This does NOT, however, prevent the user from changing their password in their Google account to a non-compliant password. But since JumpCloud is the password authority, any change to the user in JumpCloud will overwrite the non-compliant password in Google with the compliant JumpCloud password.

Note that when synchronizing between JumpCloud and G Suite, the password must be compliant with Google's name and password guidelines.

Q: What happens when a JumpCloud user has their password expire due to JumpCloud’s password complexity requirements?

A: The user’s Google account is suspended, blocking the user from accessing their account. Renewing the user’s password in JumpCloud will re-activate the user’s Google account.

Q: Can an employee change their password within G Suite? 

A: The employee can change their password from G Suites's password change system however this will not update JumpCloud. JumpCloud’s version of the password will overwrite the modified one in G Suite and will log the user out of the G Suite session, enforcing the JumpCloud credentials to be input. 
 

Last Updated: Sep 01, 2017 02:08PM MDT

Related Articles
31b11a79e2c94470a66430cfe6d3eecd@jumpcloud.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete